News‎ > ‎

Don Steed Elementary wins Give 5 Read 5

posted Oct 25, 2016, 1:01 PM by JODIE BRYANT   [ updated Oct 25, 2016, 1:02 PM ]

Don D. Steed Elementary has won the  statewide Give Five—Read Five book drive in the large school category.  The school, which has approximately 687 students, collected 10,527 books this past spring.  That is an average of 15 books per student.  

During the 2016 Give 5—Read 5 campaign, the elementary schools in Hoke County collected a total of 33,719 books for our elementary students to take home and enjoy reading during summer break.  Since the first year of the campaign in 2013, Hoke County Schools has collected more than 134,000 books.  

The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction first launched the statewide Give Five—Read Five campaign in 2013 to address summer learning loss.  As a part of this annual effort, parents, business leaders and community members donate five or more new or gently used books to local elementary schools so that students have books to take home at the end of the school year because research from Harvard shows that reading five books helps students to better retain literacy skills over the summer.

In 2016, the NCDPI took the Give Five—Read Five campaign one step further. As a part of a new partnership with myON, a division of Capstone, the NCDPI offered every student in the state access to the personalized literacy tool myON Reader.  Across the state, students at every grade level were able to use this tool during the summer months and collectively they read 220,000 books online. In addition, 137 schools across 48 districts and one charter school collected nearly 460,000 new and gently used books that were distributed before summer break.

Also in 2016, the top four schools that collected the most books received a free one-year school-wide license to online literacy tools provided by campaign partner Achieve 3000, Reading Horizons and myON.

Other winners from across the state included: Overall Winner - Winding Springs Elementary (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools); Small School Winner - Aberdeen Primary (Moore County Schools);  and Medium School Winner - Union Elementary (Cleveland County Schools).